Liberia House was built in 1825 by William J. Weir on land inherited by his wife, Harriett B. Mitchell Weir. It served as Civil War headquarters for Confederate and Union forces. Both presidents of the two warring nations came here to meet with their generals: Jefferson Davis arrived in 1861, and Abraham Lincoln, in 1862. Proof of occupation is displayed as faded graffiti left by Union soldiers is visible on interior walls.
Constructed largely by enslaved laborers, this two-story, Federal style, five-bay house was built of bricks fired on site from Virginia red clay. It stands as one of the few early 19th century structures still remaining in Manassas. The house is open to the public during special City events and is home to the City’s annual Bee Festival in June.